Skip to main content
 
Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for 99 Red Balloons by Elisabeth Carpenter! I have an exclusive extract for you today!
 

 
 
 



 From Elisabeth Carpenter comes a debut psychological thriller guaranteed to take your breath away. Perfect for fans of Broadchurch and The Missing.
 
‘An intelligent, taut and compelling thriller that throws you right at the end’
-       SAM CARRINGTON, bestselling author of Saving Sophie.
 
 
 What They Say:
 
Two girls go missing, decades apart. What would you do if one was your daughter?
 
When eight-year-old Grace goes missing from a sweetshop on the way home from school, her mother Emma is plunged into a nightmare. Her family rallies around, but as the police hunt begins, cracks begin to emerge.
 
What are the secret emails sent between Emma’s husband and her sister? Why does her mother take so long to join the search? And is Emma really as innocent as she seems?
 
Meanwhile, ageing widow Maggie Taylor sees Grace’s picture in the newspaper. It’s a photograph that jolts her from the pain of her existence into a spiralling obsession with another girl – the first girl who disappeared…
 
This is a gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist that will take your breath away.
 
 
Extract:
 
Chapter 16 p.83-84

I’m nearly at the newsagent’s. I need to see more pictures of her. It’s been three days since I last went out. It’s not raining, but I’m wearing my mac anyway. I don’t know why I didn’t look out of the window before I came out. It’s sunny, bloody typical. It’s never usually warm in October; I’m sweating in this stupid coat.
I shouldn’t have come outside. It’s making me think too clearly, but I need to see her in black and white, to feel the pictures between my fingers. It’s not enough seeing the news on television. I’m getting the sickness again – that’s what Sarah used to call it when she was obsessed with a boy at school. She knew it was happening, but couldn’t do anything about it. It’s how I feel about this; it makes me feel closer to Sarah.
I open the door to the newsagent’s.
‘Morning, Maggie. Not seen you in—’
‘Morning. I’ve been ill.’ 
Hopefully my tone will put her off talking to me again.
‘Are you okay? You haven’t been yourself this past week.’
‘How would you know? You haven’t seen me for days.’ 
I wish she’d just shut up.
I pick up three copies of each newspaper, placing each on the counter as I move along the rack. I’ve brought my shopping trolley so carrying them home won’t be a problem.
‘I’m sorry, Maggie. I should have realised. Sandra said you get awfully upset whenever there’s a missing child.’
Sandra. 
That bloody woman. I’m sure she was put on this earth merely to test my patience – to examine every single movement I make. I can feel it bubbling inside me. The rage is almost at my mouth. I have to stop and breathe before it escapes.
I slam the last three copies of the Express onto the counter.
‘Just these, Mrs Sharples.’
‘I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to pry.’
I should have exploded while I had it in me – let her have every angry word I want to throw at the people who live in this village – all their pitying glances, their whispers of That poor, poor woman, she’s got nothing left. But it would only give them something else to yak about. I’ve lived with this for too long. Once I let them have it, I’ll know that I’ll have finally lost it – and I came too close then, far too close. I’ll have to keep myself in check.
‘How much will that be?’
She pushes the stack of papers towards me.
‘You can have them. Please . . . on me . . . no charge.’
Breathe, breathe. 
I open my trolley and carefully lay the papers inside. I place the money on the counter. 
‘I do appreciate that, Mrs Sharples, but I don’t accept charity. Never have, never will.’
I turn and pull my trolley.
‘Maggie. Please call me . . .’
She doesn’t bother to finish her sentence.
 
 
 
About The Author:
 
Elisabeth Carpenter lives in Preston with her family and has been awarded a Northern Writers' Award bursary from New Writing North, and she was long-listed for the Yeovil Literary Prize (2015) and the MsLexia Women’s Novel award (2015). Two of Libby’s flash fiction pieces were shortlisted on Mashstories.com – where she is now part of the judging team.
 
Thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon Books for sending me a gorgeous copy of this book and for allowing me to be part of the blog tour! Review to follow.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review - Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt

I am so, so excited to be bringing you my review of Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt!!

What They Say:
Fact: Did you know, over its lifespan, your sofa will witness roughly 293 arguments and 1,369 cuddles?
Hiya, my name's Scarlett Moffatt and I love random facts. Almost as much as I love sitting on me sofa. You might know me best from my most famous and celebrated sit thus far on the I'm A Celebrity throne. You might also know me from all sorts of other seats, most especially my Gogglebox sofa. Well this book is my attempt at telling me life story through a whole series of them!
So I'd like you right now to stop what you're doing and take a seat, whether it be in the comfort of your own home, on the top deck of the bus, on the tube (so you don't have to make eye contact with anybody) or on the throne of the house (a.k.a. the toilet). I want you to get comfortable and get ready to laugh, cry and maybe even learn a bit, as I chat to you about some of t…

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Silent Children by Carol Wyer

Amazon Links

UK🇬🇧http://amzn.to/2hcKJdFUS🇺🇸http://amzn.to/2xfylD8


What They Say:
The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this...

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, …

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer

Welcome to my stop on the Blog blitz for the fabulous third Instalment in the DI Robyn Carter series!


What They Say:

One girl found dead. Another girl gone... Long shadows danced on the tin walls. Inside the trunk lay Carrie Miller, wrapped in plastic, arms folded across her ribcage, lips sealed tight forever... When a girl’s body is found at a Midlands storage unit, it is too decomposed for Detective Robyn Carter to read the signs left by the killer. No one knows the woman in blue who rented the unit; her hire van can’t be traced. But as the leads run dry another body is uncovered. This time the killer’s distinctive mark is plain to see, and matching scratches on the first victim’s skeleton make Robyn suspect she’s searching for a serial-killer.  As Robyn closes in on the killer’s shocking hunting ground, another girl goes missing, and this time it’s someone close to her own heart.  Robyn can’t lose another loved one. Can she find the sickest individual she has ever faced, before it’…