Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Recipe - The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry


Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry!

This fab book is out now with Avon Books!


What They Say:

If you want to move forward, sometimes you have to go back …
 
Growing up in a Yorkshire village, Roxanne Cartwright couldn’t wait to escape and make her place in the world. Now, thirty years later, she’s a fashion editor living a glamorous life of perennial singlehood in London – or so it seems to her sister Della. But when Roxanne finds her career under threat, she feels herself pulled back to the quiet village she’d been so desperate to leave.
 
As Roxanne reacquaints herself with life on Rosemary Lane, she slowly makes a surprising discovery: the people who live in Burley Bridge are, well, just people – different from the fashion set she’s used to, but kind and even interesting. Michael, a single dad trying to make a go of a small bakery, particularly so. Little by little, cupcake by cupcake, Roxanne and Michael fall into an unexpected friendship.
 
Could there be a life for Roxanne after all, in the place she’s spent years trying to escape.
 
This book has everything you could want - food, family, friends and feuds, and is the perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley, Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews.
 
About The Author
 
Ellen Berry is an author and magazine journalist. Originally from rural West Yorkshire, she has three teenage children and lives with her husband and their daughter in Glasgow. When she’s not writing, she loves to cook and browse her vast collection of cookbooks, which is how the idea for this story came about. However, she remains the world’s worst baker but tends to blame her failures on ‘the oven’.


Exclusive Recipe from the Author:


Easy Cherry Clafoutis / Ellen Berry 


I can't quite decide whether a clafoutis is a pudding or a cake. It is very French, which is pleasing - and virtually bungle-proof which is good news if, like me, you find actual cakes quite a challenge to make. Really, it’s just a batter with tons of fruit - and it’s lovely served warm with ice cream. An impressive pud for when you have friends over, with minimal effort required. 

When my kids were little we lived in a small country town called Biggar, in North Lanarkshire, Scotland. A favourite walk was to Bizzyberry Hill, which was a haven for raspberry picking. You can easily substitute the cherries in this recipe for raspberries - or ripe and juicy peaches, plums or apricots, if the fancy takes you. 


You’ll need: 

450g ripe cherries with stones removed (or the same weight of another fruit - see above)

3 tbsp caster sugar 
a generous splash of kirsch or other cherry-type liqueur (optional)

20g unsalted butter

2 eggs

3 tbsp caster sugar

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 heaped tbsp plain flour

50 ml whole milk

70 ml double cream
 
Pinch of salt 

Method

1. Mix together the cherries, sugar and liqueur (if using) and set aside for 2 hours to bring out the sweetness of the fruit. 
2. Preheat oven to 180C/Gas 4. Grease a baking dish with butter, sprinkle with caster sugar and shake out any excess, so a fine coating is left. 
3. For the clafoutis batter, gently melt the butter, taking care not to let it burn. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Whisk together the eggs, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl until creamy.
5. Add the flour, whisk until smooth, then gradually add the milk, cream, salt and melted butter. 
6. Add the fruit to the batter and pour into the buttered, sugared baking dish. 
7. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the top is slightly golden and the blade of a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. 
8. Sprinkle with caster sugar and serve warm with cream, ice cream or just by itself, sliced with coffee or tea.

I can't wait to read this book! It sounds delicious and I really enjoyed my first visit to Rosemary Lane!

Huge thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon books for allowing me to be part of this tour and for sending me a gorgeous copy of the book! Review to follow.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review - Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt

I am so, so excited to be bringing you my review of Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt!!

What They Say:
Fact: Did you know, over its lifespan, your sofa will witness roughly 293 arguments and 1,369 cuddles?
Hiya, my name's Scarlett Moffatt and I love random facts. Almost as much as I love sitting on me sofa. You might know me best from my most famous and celebrated sit thus far on the I'm A Celebrity throne. You might also know me from all sorts of other seats, most especially my Gogglebox sofa. Well this book is my attempt at telling me life story through a whole series of them!
So I'd like you right now to stop what you're doing and take a seat, whether it be in the comfort of your own home, on the top deck of the bus, on the tube (so you don't have to make eye contact with anybody) or on the throne of the house (a.k.a. the toilet). I want you to get comfortable and get ready to laugh, cry and maybe even learn a bit, as I chat to you about some of t…

Blog Tour Stop with Review - No One Cancels Christmas by Zara Stoneley

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for No One Cancels Christmas by Zara Stoneley!

What They Say:
It’s the most magical time of the year, and for travel agent Sarah it’s also the busiest! But this year one man threatens to ruin Christmas for Sarah’s customers – Mr Grinch, Will Armstrong. The Shooting Star Mountain resort is a magical place, and Sarah has fond memories of Christmas here as a little girl – visits to Father Christmas, husky rides in the snow and hot chocolate by a roaring fire. But as the resorts new owner, Will refuses to play snowball or to deck the halls with anything remotely resembling tinsel!
With customers complaining their Christmas is ruined, Sarah decides it’s up to her to convince Scroogey Will just how magical Christmas can be….
But getting Will into the Christmas spirit is hopeless – he is Bah Humbug personified! But as Sarah gets to know him better, she realises that underneath all the gloom is a man struggling with a pain of his own.
With the big day ap…

Blog Tour Stop - Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square by Heidi Swain

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square by the utterly fabulous Heidi Swain!! What They Say:
Kate is on the run from her almost-divorced husband who is determined to have her back, and she has found the perfect place to hide... a little cottage on Nightingale Square in Norwich, far away from her old life in London. But the residents of Nightingale Square don't take no for an answer, and Kate soon finds herself pulled into a friendship with Lisa, her bossy but lovely new neighbour.

Within a matter of days Kate is landed with the job of campaigning the council to turn the green into a community garden, meanwhile all the residents of Nightingale Square are horrified to discover that the Victorian mansion house on the other side of the square has been bought by developers. But when all hope is lost, the arrival of a handsome stranger is sure to turn things around! 
Read on for an Exclusive Piece from Heidi, telling us all about the new settin…