Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Recipe - The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry


Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry!

This fab book is out now with Avon Books!


What They Say:

If you want to move forward, sometimes you have to go back …
 
Growing up in a Yorkshire village, Roxanne Cartwright couldn’t wait to escape and make her place in the world. Now, thirty years later, she’s a fashion editor living a glamorous life of perennial singlehood in London – or so it seems to her sister Della. But when Roxanne finds her career under threat, she feels herself pulled back to the quiet village she’d been so desperate to leave.
 
As Roxanne reacquaints herself with life on Rosemary Lane, she slowly makes a surprising discovery: the people who live in Burley Bridge are, well, just people – different from the fashion set she’s used to, but kind and even interesting. Michael, a single dad trying to make a go of a small bakery, particularly so. Little by little, cupcake by cupcake, Roxanne and Michael fall into an unexpected friendship.
 
Could there be a life for Roxanne after all, in the place she’s spent years trying to escape.
 
This book has everything you could want - food, family, friends and feuds, and is the perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley, Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews.
 
About The Author
 
Ellen Berry is an author and magazine journalist. Originally from rural West Yorkshire, she has three teenage children and lives with her husband and their daughter in Glasgow. When she’s not writing, she loves to cook and browse her vast collection of cookbooks, which is how the idea for this story came about. However, she remains the world’s worst baker but tends to blame her failures on ‘the oven’.


Exclusive Recipe from the Author:


Easy Cherry Clafoutis / Ellen Berry 


I can't quite decide whether a clafoutis is a pudding or a cake. It is very French, which is pleasing - and virtually bungle-proof which is good news if, like me, you find actual cakes quite a challenge to make. Really, it’s just a batter with tons of fruit - and it’s lovely served warm with ice cream. An impressive pud for when you have friends over, with minimal effort required. 

When my kids were little we lived in a small country town called Biggar, in North Lanarkshire, Scotland. A favourite walk was to Bizzyberry Hill, which was a haven for raspberry picking. You can easily substitute the cherries in this recipe for raspberries - or ripe and juicy peaches, plums or apricots, if the fancy takes you. 


You’ll need: 

450g ripe cherries with stones removed (or the same weight of another fruit - see above)

3 tbsp caster sugar 
a generous splash of kirsch or other cherry-type liqueur (optional)

20g unsalted butter

2 eggs

3 tbsp caster sugar

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 heaped tbsp plain flour

50 ml whole milk

70 ml double cream
 
Pinch of salt 

Method

1. Mix together the cherries, sugar and liqueur (if using) and set aside for 2 hours to bring out the sweetness of the fruit. 
2. Preheat oven to 180C/Gas 4. Grease a baking dish with butter, sprinkle with caster sugar and shake out any excess, so a fine coating is left. 
3. For the clafoutis batter, gently melt the butter, taking care not to let it burn. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Whisk together the eggs, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl until creamy.
5. Add the flour, whisk until smooth, then gradually add the milk, cream, salt and melted butter. 
6. Add the fruit to the batter and pour into the buttered, sugared baking dish. 
7. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the top is slightly golden and the blade of a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. 
8. Sprinkle with caster sugar and serve warm with cream, ice cream or just by itself, sliced with coffee or tea.

I can't wait to read this book! It sounds delicious and I really enjoyed my first visit to Rosemary Lane!

Huge thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon books for allowing me to be part of this tour and for sending me a gorgeous copy of the book! Review to follow.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Books of The Year 2018!!

Hello you beautiful people! It's that time of the year again, time to round up the books I have read in 2018 and tell you which ones made my list. I love and hate this in equal measure. I love looking back on my reads from the year but I hate feeling like I left off a book that I loved or missed a hidden gem. I worked long and hard on this list and I feel really good about it this year. I have read 53 out of the 45 books I had hoped to read this year, so I'm pretty pleased with that.

So, here we go!

Best Character In A Series: DI Natalie Ward written by Carol Wyer

Best Debut: The Lido by Libby Page

Best Memoir: I have a tie here between Eat. Drink, Run by Bryony Gordon    AND 
Born In The Bed You Were Made by Brooklyn James

Children's/YA Book: We Are Young by Cat Clarke

Most Surprising Book: I Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting. I don't normally read New Age or Romantic books, but I went to school with the author and was excited to try one of her books. I absolutely loved it…

Blog Tour Stop with Review - Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer!


What They Say:

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?
When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. 

Blog Tour Stop with Review - No One Cancels Christmas by Zara Stoneley

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for No One Cancels Christmas by Zara Stoneley!

What They Say:
It’s the most magical time of the year, and for travel agent Sarah it’s also the busiest! But this year one man threatens to ruin Christmas for Sarah’s customers – Mr Grinch, Will Armstrong. The Shooting Star Mountain resort is a magical place, and Sarah has fond memories of Christmas here as a little girl – visits to Father Christmas, husky rides in the snow and hot chocolate by a roaring fire. But as the resorts new owner, Will refuses to play snowball or to deck the halls with anything remotely resembling tinsel!
With customers complaining their Christmas is ruined, Sarah decides it’s up to her to convince Scroogey Will just how magical Christmas can be….
But getting Will into the Christmas spirit is hopeless – he is Bah Humbug personified! But as Sarah gets to know him better, she realises that underneath all the gloom is a man struggling with a pain of his own.
With the big day ap…