Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Recipe - The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry


Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry!

This fab book is out now with Avon Books!


What They Say:

If you want to move forward, sometimes you have to go back …
 
Growing up in a Yorkshire village, Roxanne Cartwright couldn’t wait to escape and make her place in the world. Now, thirty years later, she’s a fashion editor living a glamorous life of perennial singlehood in London – or so it seems to her sister Della. But when Roxanne finds her career under threat, she feels herself pulled back to the quiet village she’d been so desperate to leave.
 
As Roxanne reacquaints herself with life on Rosemary Lane, she slowly makes a surprising discovery: the people who live in Burley Bridge are, well, just people – different from the fashion set she’s used to, but kind and even interesting. Michael, a single dad trying to make a go of a small bakery, particularly so. Little by little, cupcake by cupcake, Roxanne and Michael fall into an unexpected friendship.
 
Could there be a life for Roxanne after all, in the place she’s spent years trying to escape.
 
This book has everything you could want - food, family, friends and feuds, and is the perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley, Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews.
 
About The Author
 
Ellen Berry is an author and magazine journalist. Originally from rural West Yorkshire, she has three teenage children and lives with her husband and their daughter in Glasgow. When she’s not writing, she loves to cook and browse her vast collection of cookbooks, which is how the idea for this story came about. However, she remains the world’s worst baker but tends to blame her failures on ‘the oven’.


Exclusive Recipe from the Author:


Easy Cherry Clafoutis / Ellen Berry 


I can't quite decide whether a clafoutis is a pudding or a cake. It is very French, which is pleasing - and virtually bungle-proof which is good news if, like me, you find actual cakes quite a challenge to make. Really, it’s just a batter with tons of fruit - and it’s lovely served warm with ice cream. An impressive pud for when you have friends over, with minimal effort required. 

When my kids were little we lived in a small country town called Biggar, in North Lanarkshire, Scotland. A favourite walk was to Bizzyberry Hill, which was a haven for raspberry picking. You can easily substitute the cherries in this recipe for raspberries - or ripe and juicy peaches, plums or apricots, if the fancy takes you. 


You’ll need: 

450g ripe cherries with stones removed (or the same weight of another fruit - see above)

3 tbsp caster sugar 
a generous splash of kirsch or other cherry-type liqueur (optional)

20g unsalted butter

2 eggs

3 tbsp caster sugar

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 heaped tbsp plain flour

50 ml whole milk

70 ml double cream
 
Pinch of salt 

Method

1. Mix together the cherries, sugar and liqueur (if using) and set aside for 2 hours to bring out the sweetness of the fruit. 
2. Preheat oven to 180C/Gas 4. Grease a baking dish with butter, sprinkle with caster sugar and shake out any excess, so a fine coating is left. 
3. For the clafoutis batter, gently melt the butter, taking care not to let it burn. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Whisk together the eggs, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl until creamy.
5. Add the flour, whisk until smooth, then gradually add the milk, cream, salt and melted butter. 
6. Add the fruit to the batter and pour into the buttered, sugared baking dish. 
7. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the top is slightly golden and the blade of a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. 
8. Sprinkle with caster sugar and serve warm with cream, ice cream or just by itself, sliced with coffee or tea.

I can't wait to read this book! It sounds delicious and I really enjoyed my first visit to Rosemary Lane!

Huge thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon books for allowing me to be part of this tour and for sending me a gorgeous copy of the book! Review to follow.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour Stop with Extract - When Polly Met Olly by Zoe May

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for  When Polly Met Olly by Zoe May! I have an exclusive extract for you today!


What They Say:
Polly and Olly were never supposed to meet…
Polly might spend her days searching for eligible matches for her elite list of clients at her New York dating agency, but her own love life is starting to go up in smoke. Even worse, she can’t stop thinking about the very person she’s meant to be setting her latest client up with… surely it can’t get any worse! But then Polly bumps into oh-so-handsome Olly, who heads up a rival agency, and realizes that perhaps all really is fair in love and dating war…
Chapter One
Surely, I’m not qualified to be a matchmaker?!
You’d think getting a job at a dating agency might actually require you to have found love, or at least be good at dating, but apparently not. I’ve been single for three years and I haven’t had a date for six months, yet I’m pretty sure I’m nailing this interview. ‘So, what kind of message would you send Eri…

Books of the Year 2019

Hello and welcome to my annual Books of the Year Post! I can't believe it's that time of year already! Time to count down my favourite books, the reads that stayed with my long after the last page was turned.

I read 49 books in 2019 and there were some phenomenal stories in amongst them. I struggled so much that I could only narrow it down to a Top 15!

So, without further ado, here are my Top 15 Books of 2019!!

15. Our Stop by Laura Williams

14. Louis Louise by Julie Cohen

13. What Happens In France by Carol Wyer

12. Coming Home to Wishington Bay by Maxine Morrey

11. Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

10. The Garden on Holly Street by Megan Attley

9. The Things I Know by Amanda Prowse

8. The Family by Louise Jensen

7. The Magnificent Mrs Mayhew by Milly Johnson

6. A Postcard From Italy by Alex Brown

5. Knowing You by Samantha Tonge

4. Sleep by CL Taylor

3. The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell

2. The Day We Met by Roxie Cooper

AND MY BOOK OF THE YEAR, 2019 IS...

1. THE HOTEL WHERE WE ME…

Blog Tour Stop - The Man I Loved Before by Anna Mansell

Welcome to my Blog Tour Stop for The Man I Loved Before by Anna Mansell!

Title: THE MAN I LOVED BEFORE      Author:  ANNA MANSELL PUBLICATION DAY: 10/03/2020 BUY LINKS: