Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop - I Never Lie by Jody Sabral

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for I Never Lie by Jody Sabral! I have an exclusive piece written by Jody about her writing process.


Book Blurb:

Is she the next victim? Or is she the culprit…?
Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion. Her career as a television journalist is hanging by a thread since a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself – or to others?

This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, B A Paris and Clare Mackintosh.


THE WRITING PROCESS

By Jody Sabral

People always ask me, ‘What’s your starting point as a writer?’ My reply? ‘I have themes that I feel passionate about, but the starting point for me is character. It’s always character.’ For me, plot is born from character, not the other way around.

I recall writing my one page synopsis for I NEVER LIE while pitching the idea to my agent. He wanted me to nail the story on that one page. I worked tirelessly at it, but something wasn’t working so I decided to just start writing the book and as I got about two thirds of the way through it the synopsis just came to me. I literally sat down and wrote it in twenty minutes and that was it, done. I sent it off to my agent and he replied, ‘You’ve nailed it!’ and I had.

It’d had taken hours, even days to put that first draft of the synopsis down and I realised through this experience that I am the kind of writer who likes the journey of exploration, I’m not someone who maps it all out before I start. I let my characters take me where they need to go and that is how I write. It means I have a lot of rewriting to do, but I’m okay with that because for me that is the best bit. The layering of the story, crafting it from the first, then second, and sometimes up to the fourteenth draft and beyond.

I lose count of the rewrites because it’s just part of my process. Like a painter faced with a canvas, I go back and apply the next layer of paint. I reread and find inspiration from my original words. It also means I need time away from those words so I can detach from them. It’s a process and everyone’s writing process is unique.

It’s not something I learned on my MA in creative writing at City University. That course was brilliant for critiquing narrative and developing my writing in terms of retraining from writing news to writing creatively, but understanding and nurturing my own process actually came from listening to a series of BAFTA podcasts in which established writers talked about theirs.

Those podcasts gave me the confidence to trust in my own method which was fundamentally led by my intuition. I discovered in those podcasts writers admitting they didn’t read as much as they should – as the voice of other writers could influence their own work, which I now find to be true for me; That they also liked the journey of discovery; That not everyone plotted out the entire story before starting which gave me the confidence to follow my own path.
These days, my agent knows he’s going to get a rough outline, but that it will likely change as I’m writing. It’s a relationship of trust and of understanding just how the individual writer works. In the early days I went to plenty of writing festivals where I listened to writers like myself handing out tips, which was great. It gave me useful tools to deploy, but honestly, it’s an individual journey.
I tend to leave scenes unfinished at the end of my writing day so that I have something to return to. This means I can jump straight into writing the next day, which is the hardest part of my day, because I seem to have a naturally inbuilt resistance to just starting. I don’t know why, it’s the settling that takes me a while but once in the zone I keep going, plodding along through the words. Some days it works, some days it doesn’t, but I keep doing it because I simply don’t know how not to.


About The Book:

Title: I Never Lie

Author Name: Jody Sabral

Previous Books (if applicable): N/A

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Release Date: 11th June 2018

Publisher: Canelo

Author Bio:

Jody Sabral is based between the South Coast and London, where she works as a Foreign Desk editor and video producer at the BBC. She is a graduate of the MA in Crime Fiction at City University, London. Jody worked as a journalist in Turkey for ten years, covering the region for various international broadcasters. She self-published her first book Changing Borders in 2012 and won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2014 for her second novel The Movement. In addition to working for the BBC, Jody also writes for the Huffington Post, Al–Monitor and Brics Post.
Twitter:  @jsabral
Follow the Tour!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review - Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt

I am so, so excited to be bringing you my review of Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt!!

What They Say:
Fact: Did you know, over its lifespan, your sofa will witness roughly 293 arguments and 1,369 cuddles?
Hiya, my name's Scarlett Moffatt and I love random facts. Almost as much as I love sitting on me sofa. You might know me best from my most famous and celebrated sit thus far on the I'm A Celebrity throne. You might also know me from all sorts of other seats, most especially my Gogglebox sofa. Well this book is my attempt at telling me life story through a whole series of them!
So I'd like you right now to stop what you're doing and take a seat, whether it be in the comfort of your own home, on the top deck of the bus, on the tube (so you don't have to make eye contact with anybody) or on the throne of the house (a.k.a. the toilet). I want you to get comfortable and get ready to laugh, cry and maybe even learn a bit, as I chat to you about some of t…

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Silent Children by Carol Wyer

Amazon Links

UK🇬🇧http://amzn.to/2hcKJdFUS🇺🇸http://amzn.to/2xfylD8


What They Say:
The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this...

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, …

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer

Welcome to my stop on the Blog blitz for the fabulous third Instalment in the DI Robyn Carter series!


What They Say:

One girl found dead. Another girl gone... Long shadows danced on the tin walls. Inside the trunk lay Carrie Miller, wrapped in plastic, arms folded across her ribcage, lips sealed tight forever... When a girl’s body is found at a Midlands storage unit, it is too decomposed for Detective Robyn Carter to read the signs left by the killer. No one knows the woman in blue who rented the unit; her hire van can’t be traced. But as the leads run dry another body is uncovered. This time the killer’s distinctive mark is plain to see, and matching scratches on the first victim’s skeleton make Robyn suspect she’s searching for a serial-killer.  As Robyn closes in on the killer’s shocking hunting ground, another girl goes missing, and this time it’s someone close to her own heart.  Robyn can’t lose another loved one. Can she find the sickest individual she has ever faced, before it’…