Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Silent Children by Carol Wyer




Amazon Links

UKπŸ‡¬πŸ‡§http://amzn.to/2hcKJdF
USπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έhttp://amzn.to/2xfylD8



What They Say:

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this...

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.
About the author: 




Carol E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully. More recently she has chosen to write for the "dark side" and embarked on a series of thrillers, starting with the gripping best-seller, Little Girl Lost.
Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing 'Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.
Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 

What I Say:

Whoa! As with all  of the books in this series, I did not see that coming!

I adore the twisty, turny, whodunnit style that Carol uses in these books. Her characters are rich and incredibly powerful, and with that, we are drawn deep into a dark world. The Silent Children is the very definition of a page turner, as I actually read 75% of the book in one go. I had to find out what happened. I couldn't stop until I reached the end. Even now though, I am anxiously awaiting the next installment in the series.

DI Robyn Carter is an amazing character, a real role model. Her strength and courage are admirable and she has me cheering for her with every turn of the page. The supporting officers are a great group too. I especially like Anna and Mitz.

Overall, I would say that if you're looking for a gripping, gritty series, this is absolutely it! 9/10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review - Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt

I am so, so excited to be bringing you my review of Sofa, So Good; Me Life Story by Scarlett Moffatt!!

What They Say:
Fact: Did you know, over its lifespan, your sofa will witness roughly 293 arguments and 1,369 cuddles?
Hiya, my name's Scarlett Moffatt and I love random facts. Almost as much as I love sitting on me sofa. You might know me best from my most famous and celebrated sit thus far on the I'm A Celebrity throne. You might also know me from all sorts of other seats, most especially my Gogglebox sofa. Well this book is my attempt at telling me life story through a whole series of them!
So I'd like you right now to stop what you're doing and take a seat, whether it be in the comfort of your own home, on the top deck of the bus, on the tube (so you don't have to make eye contact with anybody) or on the throne of the house (a.k.a. the toilet). I want you to get comfortable and get ready to laugh, cry and maybe even learn a bit, as I chat to you about some of t…

2017 Wrap Up and Books of the Year

Merry Christmas and Welcome to my Wrap Up of 2017 and My Annual Books of the Year List!

According to Goodreads, I have read 49 books this year (but I'm sure there were more so I will just include them as I remember them). (I'm 25% of the way through my 50th), so I will begin with a list of the books that I have read this year. There have been some corkers and I have discovered some brilliant new authors and series.

So, here goes...
In 2017 I read:
The Silent Children - Carol Wyer Little Girl Lost - Carol Wyer Cold Feet at Christmas - Debbie Johnson Never Kiss A Man In A Christmas Jumper - Debbie Johnson Christmas For One - Amanda Prowse Sleigh Ride and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair - Heidi Swain The Escape - CL Taylor Me Life Story : Sofa So Good - Scarlett Moffatt No Way Back - Kelly Florentia Entangled - Cat Clarke Torn - Cat Clarke Undone - Cat Clarke Falling - Cat Clarke Night School #1 - CJ Daugherty Blood Daughter - Dreda Say Mitchell The Haunting of Tabitha Grey - Va…