Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop - The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson

 

Welcome to my Blog Tour Stop for The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson!!

 

I'm very excited as I love Fiona's books and she's such a lovely lady!

 
 
EBOOK: 13TH APRIL
PAPERBACK: 20TH APRIL
 
 
 
What They Say:
 
The laugh-out-loud Sunday Times bestseller is back - and funnier than ever! Perfect for fans of Outnumbered and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is.
 
After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson.
 
 
I'm really pleased to be sharing an exclusive extract from the book with you today! Read on and see!
 
 
"In the kitchen now, I wave through the window at Stu and Bob, his friend and business cohort, who are deep in conversation at the table in our tiny back garden. Prowling for something to eat, I discover prized treasure in the form of leftover spaghetti and fresh pesto – clearly Stu’s work – in a pan on the hob. Too hungry to bother with heating it up, I shovel it down straight from the pan before joining Stu and Bob in the garden.
 
‘Hey, Lorrie,’ Bob says, hands wrapped around a mug of tea. Parsley Force has certainly knocked back their beer consumption, as most of their call-outs happen in the evenings and late into the night.
 
‘Hi, Bob. How’s it going?’
 
‘Really good,’ he enthuses. ‘Better than we could’ve hoped, amazingly.’
 
I glance at the A4 pad covered in scribbled notes on the wrought-iron table. ‘Plans for world domination?’
 
He nods and grins. ‘Well, expansion plans. Marketing, social media, that kind of thing. We’ve probably taken things as far as we can just relying on word of mouth . . .’
 
‘He reckons we need to start promoting,’ Stu offers. ‘A newsletter, competitions, more activity on the Facebook page . . .’
 
Bob laughs, adjusting the black-rimmed spectacles that dominate his boyish face. ‘Poor old granddad, afraid of social media. Thinks it’s just some conspiracy to glean all our personal information . . .’
 
‘Well, what else is it?’ Stu retorts.
 
‘It’s useful,’ I remark. ‘What about keeping in touch with old friends? Everyone’s scattered all over the place these days. How else would we all stay connected?’
 
‘Er, via telephonic apparatus?’ Stu smirks.
 
‘Okay, but when are we supposed to phone each other?’ I ask. ‘We’re all working all day and who has time for long conversations at night? Without social media, people would just fall off the radar . . .’
 
Stu shrugs. ‘Friends who fall off the radar can’t have been that important in the first place.’
 
‘But I don’t want to lose people,’ I insist. ‘And anyway, what about my dad? How else would we be able to keep in touch when he’s 12,000 miles away in Australia? It’s over a year since I’ve seen him for real but with Facebook I still get to see him in his silly yellow shorts, trying to light a barbecue, getting told off by Jill for squirting lighter fuel all over the prawns . . .’
 
Stu shrugs. ‘Okay, there is that . . .’
 
‘And it’s how we’ll spread the word,’ Bob adds. ‘Build up a wider customer base, get people talking, maybe even attract some press coverage . . .’
 
‘Who’d want to interview us?’ Stu asks.
 
‘I don’t know. Someone might find us inspiring . . .’
 
‘You could be photographed looking all macho in your biker leathers,’ I add with a grin. ‘That could boost your customer base—’
 
‘Or close us down,’ Bob sniggers as I leave them to thrash out their plans in peace.
 
Alone in the living room, I find myself wishing the kids were around tonight. These days, I barely see them. Cam’s often working or hanging out with Mo and the rest of his mates, and Amy loves being at Bella’s. Who can blame her, with their semi-wild garden and the summerhouse Bella’s dad built? Even at fifteen, the girls still love to ‘camp’ in it. Anyway, I shouldn’t be reliant on my children for company.
 
I curl up on the sofa with my laptop and, being more of the Bob persuasion where social media is concerned, I log onto Facebook with the intention of catching up with Dad.
 
Ah, a friend request. I click it open and my heart seems to clunk.
 
Antoine Rousseau."
 
 
Oooh, I can't wait to get stuck into this one! Huge thanks to Helena Sheffield and Fiona Gibson for sending me an advanced e-book in exchange for my honest review, which will follow soon.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Review of The Art of Hiding by Amanda Prowse

Welcome to my review of The Art of Hiding by Amanda Prowse! What They Say: Nina McCarrick has it all: a loving husband, two beautiful boys, a well-appointed home and more time than she knows what to do with. Life is perfect. Until her husband, Finn, is killed in a car accident and everything Nina thought she could rely on unravels.Alone, bereft and faced with a mountain of debt, Nina quickly loses her life of luxury and she begins to question whether she ever really knew the man she married. Forced to move out of her family home, Nina returns to the rundown Southampton council estate—and the sister—she thought she had left far behind.But Nina can’t let herself be overwhelmed—her boys need her. To save them, and herself, she will have to do what her husband discouraged for so long: pursue a career of her own. Torn between the life she thought she knew and the reality she now faces, Nina finally must learn what it means to take control of her life.Bestselling author Amanda Prowse once a…

Book Review - The Queen of Wishful Milly Johnson

Welcome to my Review of The Queen of Wishful Thinking by Milly Johnson!!
What They Say:

When Lewis Harley has a health scare in his early forties, he takes it as a wake-up call. So he and his  wife Charlotte leave behind life in the fast lane and Lewis opens the antique shop he has dreamed of. Bonnie Brookland was brought up in the antiques trade and now works for the man who bought out her father’s business, but she isn’t happy there. So when she walks into Lew’s shop, she knows this is the place for her.

As Bonnie and Lew start to work together, they soon realise that there is more to their relationship than either thought. But Bonnie is trapped in an unhappy marriage, and Lew and Charlotte have more problems than they care to admit. Each has secrets in their past which are about to be uncovered. Can they find the happiness they both deserve?

What I Say:

Well, for starters, this is the first book review I have done in a really long time that isn't for a blog tour! Feels good to b…

Blog Tour Stop - The Food of Love by Amanda Prowse

Happy Christmas Eve and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Food of Love by Amanda Prowse.
What They Say:

Freya Braithwaite knows she is lucky. Nineteen years happily married to a man who still excites her, two beautiful teenaged daughters, and her dream career as a health food writer. Her home is filled with love and laughter, with a passion for food at its very core.

But no amount of love could have prepared Freya for the devastating impact of anorexia and bulimia on her family. In a desperate battle to rescue her youngest child from its clutches, Freya will do all she can to save her daughter, her marriage and her family. But how can she when food, the social glue of their family, is both the problem and the solution? Is Freya’s own obsession with clean eating partly to blame? And how can you save someone who doesn’t want to be saved? 

What I Say:

As always, I was excited at the prospect of a new Amanda Prowse novel. I knew I was in for an emotional read, her books always a…