Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Sleepover by Carol Wyer


Welcome to my Stop on the Blog Tour for The Sleepover by Carol Wyer!



She said she’d gone to a sleepover. But she never made it. Someone must know why…


When Detective Natalie Ward is called to the home of fourteen-year-old Roxy Curtis she can’t help but empathise with Roxy’s distraught mother Cathy. Roxy hasn’t come home, last seen heading next door for a sleepover with her best friend Ellie. As the mother of two teenagers herself, Natalie knows that this is every parent’s worst nightmare.

But when Roxy’s body is found in the basement of a beautiful Victorian mansion on the other side of town, Natalie’s darkest fears are confirmed. What was Roxy doing there? The people who knew her best should know – but Cathy seems evasive, and Ellie refuses to talk. Natalie is determined to find out what secrets they are keeping…

Then Roxy’s mother Cathy disappears. 

When her body is found two days later, Natalie is forced to face the fact that Roxy’s loved ones are in real danger. Things take a more sinister turn when Ellie vanishes, her mobile phone switched off. Is Ellie hiding something about the night Roxy died that could put her in terrible danger? And can Natalie work it out before another innocent life is taken?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.



What I Say:

I can't even tell you how incredibly gripping The Sleepover is! So fast paced and compelling, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.

Carol Wyer is a master storyteller, her characters draw you in to their lives and make you feel for them. Whether you love them or hate them, you feel for them. Not many other authors that I have read has quite the same skill. Natalie Ward is a phenomenal character. She's strong and caring and I always cheer for her.

The twists and turns in this story had me guessing right until the end and I really thought I had it figured out several times, only to be proven wrong.

Great storytelling, a gripping plot, wonderful characters and smooth dialogue made this a brilliant read from one of my favourite authors! 11/10


About the author:

Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.


Her book, GRUMPY OLD MENOPAUSE won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
Carol moved to the 'dark side' in 2017 with as series of thrillers. LITTLE GIRL LOST became the #2 best-selling book on Amazon, #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible and a Top 150 USA Today best-seller.
The DI Robyn Carter and DI Natalie Ward series have sold over half a million copies, earning her acclaim as a crime writer.


2019 sees the release of two romantic comedies and three DI Natalie Ward novels, including the much anticipated THE DARE and THE SLEEPOVER.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ''Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and the Huffington Post.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 
Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com

The Sleepover is out now with Bookouture! Thanks to Kim for allowing me to read an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Why I'm Shaving My Head for Lancashire Women

Hi there! I know it's been ages since I've done a personal blog post.      Things have been... weird. I know the whole world has struggled getting used to this new normal and the new measures we have to follow. So many people have lost so much to COVID and my heart breaks for them. And while the virus itself hasn't changed my life very much, this time of lockdowns and self-isolating has been really hard for me too.      When it all first started to change, Steve was taken into hospital with a bunch of different symptoms. COVID wasn't really a thing then, so he wasn't tested for it, but looking back, we're pretty sure that's what it was. While he was in hospital in March, an inspector from the RSPCA came to check on the welfare of our dogs as they'd had a report that Sky, our GSD, was too skinny. She is petite, a slim girl who didn't have a good start in life but is spoilt rotten now, along with our other 2, Bella and Minnie. They had no concerns and

Blog Tour Stop - The Man I Loved Before by Anna Mansell

Welcome to my Blog Tour Stop for The Man I Loved Before by Anna Mansell! Title: THE MAN I LOVED BEFORE        Author:  ANNA MANSELL   PUBLICATION DAY: 10/03/2020   BUY LINKS:   AMZ:  https://geni.us/B084CWJ9FTSocial Apple:  https://buff.ly/2GMG6V2 Kobo:  https://buff.ly/2ui42Ng Google:  https://buff.ly/2vOdCrX   What They Say:   ‘Dear Ben, I can only write you this letter because I know you’ll never read it…’   When  Jem  writes to her ex  Ben , it’s to explain  everything . All the secrets she kept from him – from the little lies she’d sometimes tell about how new those shoes really were, or how many glasses of wine she’d had that evening… right up to The Big Thing that happened on the night that changed everything. But she never expects he will actually see what she’s written.   She is just writing because she thinks it will help to get the words out. Later, she resolves, she’ll burn the letter,

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Day She Came Back by Amanda Prowse

Welcome to my Stop on the Blog Tour for The Day She Came Back by Amanda Prowse!  I'm so excited to bring you my review on the first day of the tour! What They Say: From the bestselling author of  The Girl in the Corner  comes a story that asks: how do you forgive the family that lied to you, and love the mum you never had? When her loving, free-spirited grandmother Primrose passes away, Victoria is bereft, yet resilient—she has survived tragedy before. But even her strength is tested when a mysterious woman attends Prim’s funeral and claims to be the mother Victoria thought was dead. As the two women get to know each other and Victoria begins to learn more about her past, it becomes clear that her beloved grandmother had been keeping life-changing secrets from her. Desperate for answers, she still struggles to trust anyone to tell her the truth. To live a full and happy life, Victoria knows she must not only uncover the truth, but find a way to forgive her