Skip to main content

Blog Tour Stop with Review - The Sleepover by Carol Wyer


Welcome to my Stop on the Blog Tour for The Sleepover by Carol Wyer!



She said she’d gone to a sleepover. But she never made it. Someone must know why…


When Detective Natalie Ward is called to the home of fourteen-year-old Roxy Curtis she can’t help but empathise with Roxy’s distraught mother Cathy. Roxy hasn’t come home, last seen heading next door for a sleepover with her best friend Ellie. As the mother of two teenagers herself, Natalie knows that this is every parent’s worst nightmare.

But when Roxy’s body is found in the basement of a beautiful Victorian mansion on the other side of town, Natalie’s darkest fears are confirmed. What was Roxy doing there? The people who knew her best should know – but Cathy seems evasive, and Ellie refuses to talk. Natalie is determined to find out what secrets they are keeping…

Then Roxy’s mother Cathy disappears. 

When her body is found two days later, Natalie is forced to face the fact that Roxy’s loved ones are in real danger. Things take a more sinister turn when Ellie vanishes, her mobile phone switched off. Is Ellie hiding something about the night Roxy died that could put her in terrible danger? And can Natalie work it out before another innocent life is taken?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.



What I Say:

I can't even tell you how incredibly gripping The Sleepover is! So fast paced and compelling, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.

Carol Wyer is a master storyteller, her characters draw you in to their lives and make you feel for them. Whether you love them or hate them, you feel for them. Not many other authors that I have read has quite the same skill. Natalie Ward is a phenomenal character. She's strong and caring and I always cheer for her.

The twists and turns in this story had me guessing right until the end and I really thought I had it figured out several times, only to be proven wrong.

Great storytelling, a gripping plot, wonderful characters and smooth dialogue made this a brilliant read from one of my favourite authors! 11/10


About the author:

Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.


Her book, GRUMPY OLD MENOPAUSE won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
Carol moved to the 'dark side' in 2017 with as series of thrillers. LITTLE GIRL LOST became the #2 best-selling book on Amazon, #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible and a Top 150 USA Today best-seller.
The DI Robyn Carter and DI Natalie Ward series have sold over half a million copies, earning her acclaim as a crime writer.


2019 sees the release of two romantic comedies and three DI Natalie Ward novels, including the much anticipated THE DARE and THE SLEEPOVER.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ''Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and the Huffington Post.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 
Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com

The Sleepover is out now with Bookouture! Thanks to Kim for allowing me to read an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Why I'm Shaving My Head for Lancashire Women

Hi there! I know it's been ages since I've done a personal blog post.      Things have been... weird. I know the whole world has struggled getting used to this new normal and the new measures we have to follow. So many people have lost so much to COVID and my heart breaks for them. And while the virus itself hasn't changed my life very much, this time of lockdowns and self-isolating has been really hard for me too.      When it all first started to change, Steve was taken into hospital with a bunch of different symptoms. COVID wasn't really a thing then, so he wasn't tested for it, but looking back, we're pretty sure that's what it was. While he was in hospital in March, an inspector from the RSPCA came to check on the welfare of our dogs as they'd had a report that Sky, our GSD, was too skinny. She is petite, a slim girl who didn't have a good start in life but is spoilt rotten now, along with our other 2, Bella and Minnie. They had no concerns and

Books of the Year 2020!

Well, it's that time of year again! My Books of the Year list is here and I'm excited to share it with you! I have read 57 books (as of today, 09/12/20) but there will be at least a couple more to add, I'm sure. Find me on Goodreads to see the full list of books I've read this year. I chose my Top 15 books Plus a few special extras, as I read so many awesome books! 1 5. Pretending - Holly Bourne 14. The Gin O'clock Club - Rosie Blake 13. The Storm - Amanda Jennings 12. Flying Solo - Zoe May 11. Kate and Clara's Curious Cornish Craft Shop - Ali McNamara 10. The Secret Admirer (DI Natalie Ward Book 6) - Carol Wyer 9. Strangers - CL Taylor 8. The Secret Seaside Escape - Heidi Swain 7. In Case You Missed It - Lindsey Kelk 6. My One True North - Milly Johnson 5. My Pear-Shaped Life - Carmel Harrington 4. What We Leave Behind - Anna Mansell 3. Just My Luck - Adele Parks 2. The Unwrapping of Theodora Quirke - Caroline Smailes 1. Invisible Girl - Lisa Jewell Favourite N

Blog Tour Stop with Review - An Eye For An Eye by Carol Wyer

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for An Eye For An Eye by Carol Wyer! What They Say: A killer running rings around the police. A detective spiralling out of control. DI Kate Young is on leave. She’s the force’s best detective, but her bosses know she’s under pressure, on medication and overcoming trauma. So after her bad judgement call leads to a narrowly averted public disaster, they’re sure all she needs is a rest. But when Staffordshire Police summon her back to work on a murder case, it’s a harder, more suspicious Kate Young who returns. With a new ruthlessness, she sets about tracking down a clinical, calculating serial killer who is torturing victims and leaving clues to taunt the police. Spurred on by her reporter husband, Young begins to suspect that the murderer might be closer than she ever imagined. As she works to uncover the truth, Young unravels a network of secrets and lies, with even those closest to her having something to hide. But with her own competence—and